top of page
  • Writer's picturehealthfocusunc

Why Is Music Therapeutic?

By Anissa Deol


 

Without music, life would be pretty boring. I listen to music constantly whenever I am not in class or not socializing. It helps me empty my mind after a long day of midterms and quizzes or allows me to understand my emotions better and why I am feeling a certain way. There is a connection I have to music that I can’t really explain to others. I just feel if I didn’t have the ridiculous number of playlists I have now, I wouldn’t be the same person as I am now.


Music for me is a way to escape reality for a bit. You can be exercising and listen to music, or you can even be walking to class and listening to the new albums or songs that have been released from last Friday. It takes us away from our assignments or problems for a small bit of the day. With this small bit of relaxation, it allows me to think about other things other than just school. It’s like being transported to another world or reality when you listen to your favorite song. That’s why people are always so ecstatic at concerts. Why would they be at the concert of someone they didn’t love? It moves people to tears and makes them so emotional. It makes them feel like it’s something out of a movie because this doesn’t happen every day.


Additionally, people use music to fall asleep easier. I know a few people who set a timer on their phone and fall asleep to their favorite film scores, classical music, or lofi vibes music because it helps them sleep better. It also helps calm their nerves and relax their senses instead of heightening them.


Spotify has some playlists that are oriented towards certain moods or times during the day that people can listen to. Some of my favorites involve:


o This can be used to listen to while writing a paper, or even reading


o This one I have fallen asleep to once or twice, but additionally will listen to if I’m studying for a quiz or test in one of my classes


o This one can be used for yoga or meditation, but can also be used when you are stretching after a workout, or even when you are just sitting and people-watching


Music is the thing that accompanies you wherever you go. I love having something playing in my ear that makes me feel better during the day. There are some days where I have gone without music and those days haven’t been the best days for me. I didn’t feel refreshed and lack a sense of creativity as well. It could just be me, but I think music has a very big impact on how we speak, think and even act.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page