top of page
  • Writer's picturehealthfocusunc

I Hate Acne.

Updated: Feb 17, 2020

By Anissa Deol


 

You’ve probably heard that phrase a lot in your time during high school and now college. I know I have, and I know I probably say that every time I see a breakout on my face.


In high school, a majority of my acne used to appear on my forehead, but my cheeks were clear. It was weird because I felt like as soon as I got to college and had a little more time, it would get better. That was when I thought acne was just caused by stress, oily skin, and eating badly.


However, as soon as I got to college, my forehead cleared up and my cheeks were now the problem. I always had new spots pop up each week, and it wasn’t just because I was starting my period the next week. After going through multiple cleansers, creams, and wipes, my dermatologist told me it was hormonal. I had no idea you could get acne under your skin that was caused by your hormones. It was cystic acne. Apparently, a lot of people have this problem, and I was just getting informed about it.


She told me each person is put on a certain medication that helps with whatever levels aren’t normal in your body. Every person is different so not everyone takes the same medication.


However, not everyone can get birth control or medication that will help their acne. They have to rely on cleansers and creams before they can. They're also a few tips to maybe help with the severity of your acne.


Always change your pillowcase after a week. If you have oily skin, it is unwise to keep that same pillowcase on for the duration of many weeks to come. It makes your face oilier and you are basically sleeping on a dirty pillowcase for your skin, especially if you have sensitive skin.


Drink water over-sugared drinks. I know people are a little hesitant when they hear this one, but drinking water is better for you anyway. It helps you stay refreshed and it is better for your health and skin instead of the sugar from the sugary drinks.


When you are in class or at work, don’t lean on your face. Try to avoid touching your face at all throughout the day, and that goes for your hair as well. Your hands have been everywhere, and you don’t want anything going onto your face. It may cause more breakouts and cause your skin to be even oilier. Instead, lean on the part under your chin with the back of your hand, or do something else with your hands to take your mind off of wanting to lean on your hand with your face.


When you get back to your dorm or your house, make sure to wipe your face down with face wipes. If you are going into the shower, use your cleanser to clean it from literally everything and the environment from during the day, or use face wipes when you change into your pajamas. Then, pin your hair back and avoid touching your face as your face wipes and cleanser work their magic. Additionally, if you wear glasses, be sure to wipe down the frame and the parts that sit on your ears because those can get oily over time and affect your skin as well.


All of these little things help calm down the acne on your face slowly. With time, the medicine will eventually work, even if you have to go through five different pills, but you have to be patient. Your skin won’t change overnight, and I think a lot of people struggle with that concept. Everything has a healing process, including your skin, and more specifically your face as well.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page